via Buzzfeed

Hello there friends. It’s been quite awhile since I’ve updated you all on what has been going on in the world of Bro. Stephen. My apologies. I have been using my time wisely though (I think) and I have some new things to tell you. Some exciting things I believe. First off, I have a round of new shows coming up and I think you’ll be happy to see who will be on these shows. There will be some shows with some old friends like Cheyenne Mize, Kalispell and John Davey, but also the great songwriters Laura Marling and Simon Joyner. Exciting stuff indeed.

09.30.12 | Lafayette, IN | House Show w/ Kalispell, John Davey

10.01.12 | Louisville, KY | The General Store (1264 S. Shelby St #1) w/ Cheyenne Mize, Kalispell

10.02.12 | Bloomington, IN | Bear’s Place w/ Kalispell, John Davey

10.20.12 | Louisville, KY | Zanzabar w/ Laura Marling [tickets]

11.11.12 | Louisville, KY | Quill’s w/ Simon Joyner

What do you do with the 15 minutes each day when you’re not writing songs? – Everyone Ever

I get this question all of the time. And here’s the answer: wine stuff.

On Tuesday of this week I passed the Level One Sommelier Exam. I’ve been studying hard for several months for this (and the exams to follow) and it’s incredibly gratifying to have passed this first big step. Like music, wine is a tool I use to understand the world around me. Understanding a wine’s geographical positioning, it’s soil, the weather, the way it was maintain, etc can give you a great appreciation for what the wine is even if you don’t particularly care for the flavors. Learning to appreciate the people around me based on the elements that have made them who they are is a great quality that I really work to get to. And like a Master Sommelier explained to me after I passed my first exam, “It’s a long road, but a good one.”

Be well my friends.

xoxoxoxo

Scott

