So, I was super bummed out about getting a parking ticket and then going to a coffee shop that had really terrible wi-fi as well as even worse coffee (stale AND burnt) and I definitely needed a pick-me-up. So, I found out about a little piece of heaven located in Madison and it is called The Henry Vilas Zoo. Oh yeah, AND IT’S FREE!!!!!!!!!
It wasn’t the most up-to-date zoo in the world, but it made for an incredibly refreshing afternoon where I got to do one of my favorite things in the world. I even got to have  a really nice chat with one of the booth attendants about various zoos around the country and how important it is to support AZA affiliated zoos! It was awesome. It really made me miss the Louisville Zoo. I’ve actually been scared to go there since I found out that Scotty the Elephant died. I almost cried when I found that out. There is a serious soft spot in my heart for animals and zoos and I think they are ESSENTIAL for protecting endangered species. I hate caging animals, but I think the work they do and the love that every zoo worker I’ve ever met has for the animals is wonderful.

Now for the pictures:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After my time at Henry Vilas, I decided to drive up to Eau Claire a day early in order to rest. It was one of the most beautiful drives of all time. I ended up getting a hotel room for super cheap (over $100 less than the original price thanks to Priceline!) and it was a welcome change. I slept for three hours straight as soon as I got in. I really needed it.

 

 

 

 

Looking a little rough…

