I know I have been slacking on the updates here, but I would like to think I’ve been busy enough that its excusable!  Since we last chatted here Frank and I have played shows in Indiana in Lafayette, Muncie, and South Bend, Michigan shows in East Lansing, Gladwin, and Bay City, and a show in Louisville, Kentucky last night. So much has happened and we have made so many new friends. I’ll try to bring you up to speed here. I really want nothing more in life right now than to take a nap, but I know Jessica will stop reading the blog if I don’t update it enough so sacrifices have to be made!

Lafayette:

This was a special show because we got to play and hang out with John Davey who I will be spending 5 weeks or so with in the near future! It was a house show at The Girls House and we made some great new friends. The show was opened up by the ramblin’ and folky Gordon Wantuch and closed out by John, who is really amazing. We got to spend some quality time with friends like Jordan, Mike, Maggie, and the wonderful Maria. Also, we got to spend some time at an incredible coffee shop called Greyhouse and I got to scope some comics at Von’s!

Muncie:

Oh, T-Rex. What a good time. Frank and I played at the infamous T-Rex house and got to hang out with all the Troopz Tykes, Ashley, and lots of other folks. We had a killer time with Dave and Ashley playing pool at Savages, and Ashley made an amazing vegetarian chili!! It’s always a real treat to see the Muncie kids and Frank’s Dad even came to the show! We played that night with Cowboy Angels (AKA Dan Schepper) whose songs are so good. Great show.


East Lansing:

We didn’t really have  solid show in East Lansing, but we went and played an open mic and hung out with our new friends John, CJ, and Liz. I met CJ last year on tour and it was great to see him again. Liz blew me away at the open mic. Her songs were really great. I’ve heard of John by reputation only so it was great to finally meet him. That dude does and has done a lot of cool stuff for Michigan music and it was super nice of him to take some time out of his busy schedule to hang out with us.

Gladwin:

It was so nice to come home and spend some time with my family for a couple days. I spent 4 months this summer working in this small farming town, and it was really cool to play a show here for my family and my former employees. They were incredibly attentive to Frank and I’s music and it was great to hang out with them at the show and afterward at a bonfire. It’s always nice to sleep in your own bed when you’ve been on people’s couches for weeks (although I’m super appreciative of every couch and floor!). This was easily one of our favorite shows. There are some shows that feel important for various reasons, and this one was definitely in that category.

Bay City:

After Gladwin we played in Bay City at Brewtopia and we are super appreciative of the show help from my buddy Brandon! My Dad and two of my brothers came out as well as one of my best buds Katie and her friends Lindsey and Chelsea! The show started out a little weird, but turned out well and we had a great time afterward with Brandon and the girls. What a fun night!

South Bend:

Frank and I had to book it to South Bend to play at the Subkirke with Frontier Ruckus. Neither of us had played in South Bend before and we didn’t know much about Subkirke, but we had heard great things and we were excited to play with FR. The show was really incredible and I got to see some old friends Ethan, John, and Janelle. The best part about touring is getting to see old friends and making new ones as well. We got in lots of both, plus we got some free pumpkin bars and fresh vegetables!! I can’t wait to play Subkirke again!

Louisville:

I don’t even know what to say. Last night was one of the best nights of all time. Here are a few of the highlights: Seeing K. Miller play all the songs I know, The Seedy Seeds at Zanzabar, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone at Zanzabar, impromptu dance party at Zanzabar, 2am Slip ‘N’ Slide (50 degree weather!), Pappy 15 year, Teen Wolf, Blacklight Lady Gaga dance party, and lots more. It was so amazing.

Now we’re on to Lexington to play The Green Lantern with Englishman and Matt Duncan. I cannot wait for this show. I love both of these bands so much. After that is Jefferson City with Breezey and Alex and Jamison! Then Nashville, Brandenburg, and Indy! So many amazing shows coming up!


