While I have nothing against the lovely holiday of Valentine’s Day, it is not a day that would normally inspire to do anything different than I normally do. However, I woke up Sunday morning with a song in my heart, so I wiggled and squiggled until it made its way out of me and onto an old cassette and then onto the computer.

I’ve never posted a demo of a new song before like this so I thought I’d try it with this one. I’m pretty sure  no one ever really checks this thing, so I’m not too uncomfortable with putting such an unfinished song out there for the inter-tubes.

The song is called “We Need to Talk” and here it is, warts and all (after the jump). I can’t seem to figure out how to get it on this computer without little clicks from the tape and a few sound dropouts, but just pretend I’m Bonnie “Prince” Billy and that its a watermark.

“We Need to Talk”

In a half an hour

I’ll probably take a drink of water and wish that it was bourbon

While you wish I was your other lover.


I’ll tell you I forgive you

But won’t mean it for a long time.

Just come home and talk about

You say you’ve thought about it

I’m torn up about it.

But for now I don’t know about it

Right now love is still something I understand

Right now I’ve got you

And we have got our plans

And you’re the biggest fan of my low-level band

Yeah, we’re fools, but we both know that.

The moment’s fast approaching

My hands, my thoughts are seizing up

Your words echo replaying

“We should really talk”

Must be worse than I thought

Oh wait, what’s that?

You’re not even mad?

This isn’t even bad?

You just want to talk about our plans for the summer?

And our trip out West?


Right now I don’t know about it

Right now love’s still something I don’t understand

Right now I’ve got you

And we have got our plans

And you’re the biggest fan of my low-level band

Yeah, we’re fools, but we both know that.

We Need to Talk by WealWedWagon

