It’s almost always a bummer when you’re on tour and you have open days.  I happened to have a big gap for Labor Day weekend, which I did not do on purpose because I didn’t even realize it was Labor Day til last week.  Labor Day kind of sneaks up on you when you’re not a student or traditionally employed.  Thankfully though I was talking to my buddy Sean, who runs the ultimate snarky blog Buzzgrinder, and found out that he and his wife Brittanie were going to Aberdeen, OH (which borders Maysville, KY) to visit their families.  Sean and Brittanie have been wanting me to come home with them forever, and I’ve been really wanting to but it never workedout.  But, this weekend I had a couple of days off and was near the area so I met up with them in Lexington and we drove to Aberdeen.  It was one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time.  I have a lot of photos so get ready for a photo blitz!

I realize that the sizing on some of these photos is really off, but I had to do them all manually and I got lazy toward the end.  Anyway, Saturday was started off like any good day is and that means we got brunch at Sean’s mom’s restaurant The Dairy Yum Yum (since 1954) which is easily my favorite restaurant name of all time.  Seriously, that is genius.  Sean and Britt’s friend Bobby hung out with us for all of Saturday while his wife Goody traveled in the area seeing her family.  It was a really fun day.

Photobucket

No car ride is complete without a little entertainment from The Junkyard Dog.  Him and I becaume fast friends this weekend and I will miss him and his catch phrases.  Every time I got into Sean and Britt’s car I had to come up with something new for him to say or do.  It was challenging, but I think I did ok.

Photobucket

That afternoon we went out and visited Brittanie’s parents and her brother Joey, who is one of the coolest dudes of all time.  Seriously.  This is their shed/former hen-house.

Photobucket

Bees!

Photobucket

The gang.

Photobucket

While we were hanging out, Brittanie’s dad asked if I’d be interested in seeing his bees (he’s a beekeeper) and I was like, “YES PLEASE!”  I was so excited.  I’m typically pretty terrified of bugs in mass quantities so I normally wouldn’t ever do something like that, but I have a rule on the road and that is to seek out every possible adventure that I can.  This was so sweet.  You could see the worker bees bringing in pollen on their legs and then her dad started taking apart the hives and blowing smoke on the bees to calm them down.  Here he is putting on his bee suit (even though he was wearing shorts) and getting the smoker ready.

Photobucket

It was so interesting to learn about all of these bees.  It was like the Mister Rogers show whenever he took a field trip.  I was SO into it.  Each of these racks in the hive are  covered in hundreds of bees and they either hatch youngins in them or make honey.  Bees were everywhere, but I wasn’t scared.  It was so much fun that I totally ignored the fact that I don’t like bees at all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Smoking out the bees!  Apparently blowing smoke on bees is like giving them a sedative.  They kind of just chill after that.  Some of them are still lively, but for the most part they are pretty cool.

Photobucket

Then he asked me if I wanted to hold one of those panels and I was like “YES PLEASE!”.  Like I said, explore ever adventure.  I literally have hundreds of bees in my hands and it was so sweet.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Close-up!

Photobucket

Photobucket

After our bee excursion we were pretty hungry.  So, we left Britt’s parents and met up with Sean’s mom to go to El Camino Real which is the area’s best Mexican restaurant.  The food there was super tasty and the decor was unreal.  Everything was so bright and all of the chairs were even painted differently.  I sat on the Siesta chair.  Fitting, right!?

Photobucket

After our Mexican food time, we decided we wanted to have a bonfire with Joey back at Britt’s parents.  Joey had been getting the fire ready and when we got there we were greeted by Joey who was wearing a shirt with blood all over it.  He was like, “Oh yeah, I was getting wood over on the pile and there were like 5 snakes in there and one of them bit me.  Not a big deal.  He wasn’t that big.”

“WHAT!?”

Now, I’m not a total city boy, but that’s a little out of my league.  Sincerely.  I like to look at snakes at the zoo, but to come upon a gathering of them would stop my heart in its tracks, but Joey is a true mountain man.  He is one with the woods around the area and with all the creatures contained therein.  So much in fact that we saw a gigantic spider dying on a block of wood in the shed and there was a much smaller spider on top of it killing it.  It was pretty sweet and then Joey was like “Oh yeah, that top spider is a black widow.  They kill the wood spiders around here.  There’s quite a few of them.”

“WHAT!?”

Now, I’m not a total wuss, but let’s be serious, black widow spiders!?  I had never seen one before, and that night I saw no less than 3.  That is a few too many in my book.  I slowly tried to regain my machismo and the whimpering gradually got quieter.  I will leave you with a few shots from the bonfire with snakes and spiders included!  I’ve got more photos of the trip coming at you in the next day or so!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

