As I mentioned in my last post, I love Bloomington.  There is just something so incredible about this town, and I’m about 150% positive that it’s the awesome folks here that I’ve come to know.

Yesterday, I had a slow start to the day and hung out with Zack Melton.  We watched an episode or two of Extras before Lindsey came back to the house to say that she found a new apartment.  She mentioned being bummed because she couldn’t move anything since she didn’t have access to the car, and Zack remembered that he was using his dad’s truck so we decided to take all of her stuff to her new place which was really nice.  It was actually a lot of fun and Dave Segedy met us there and then Lindsey treated us to shakes from The Chocolate Moose which were delicious.  The Moose also had these little “Torch Cones” for like 26 cents or something and those were really sweet.  I didn’t get one, but tasted Dave’s Raspberry one and it was delicious.  It made me miss The Dairy Del and Dairy Kastle in Louisville a lot.  I could go for an Orange Dream Cone right now.

After shakes, Dave and I met up with my newly married friends Jared and Annie Cheek for some great conversation, lots of stupid jokes, and delicious Mexican food.  I think the place was called something like El Norteno or something like that.  Someone please correct me if you can because it was a great place.  I had the Vegeterian Tortas which was really good.  I was really into the avacados on it.  Actually, while we were at the restaurant we ran into Justin Vollmar and David from Bronze Float.  “Fancy meeting you here.”  Seeing them (both amazing musicians) got me really excited for the show.  But first I needed to focus for my Coke drinking contest with Jared.  Cheek is a big man, so I was a little worried, but we ended up tying, but then he had to use the restroom before we left, so I count that as a disqualification which would make me the winner.

We left, went to get coffee and the cars, and then headed to Greek’s.  When we got there, there weren’t too many folks there quite yet, but as time went on, the place just filled up.  I get asked a lot of I ever get nervous on stage, and I can always genuinely say “No.”  Last night, however, was very different.  I don’t know what it really was, but I was actually slightly terrified.  Maybe it was the fact that I was playing such sweet acts like Vollmar, DM Stith, and Desolation Wilderness, or maybe it was the fact that the crowd was a veritable “Who’s Who” of the Bloomington music scene.  Whatever it was it was pretty gripping.  I worked through it all right until I broke into one my new songs called “Bare Wood” and the jukebox erupted in the opening riff of “Sweet Child O’ Mine”.  haha  It was pretty hilarious.  I definitely can’t compete with Guns N’ Roses.

Vollmar

Vollmar played after me and he was incredible just like I was expecting.  Justin played bass and then he had Nathan on the drums and Joe from Elephant Micah on guitar.  It was a great set and they rocked out one of my favorite Vollmar jams “New Best Friend”.  The only thing that could have made it any better would have been if they played “Beside The See From You And Me” which is my ultimate Vollmar jam.  Justin’s got an LP out right now called Tell The Dirt which is incredible.

DM Stith

After Vollmar was DM Stith who was amazing.  My buddy Dave Segedy played drums for him, Mike Dixon played bass and electric guitar, and there was a 3 person brass section.  Stith set just killed.  His guitar playing is incredible and is strangely harp-like, and his melodies are deliberately structured, yet fanciful in a way.  I was pretty blown away by him.  He seemed like a super nice dude, but I didn’t quite get the chance to say hello to him.  Like I said, I was feeling pretty nervous all night.  He is on the sweet record label Asthmatic Kitty, and I am told that one of the main dudes for the label was at the show last night, but missed my set.  It’s okay though because DM Stith was a total treat.  You should get his new record.

Press1241646399

After David played, it was time for Desolation Wilderness to play.  I wrote quite a bit about them this morning on Backseat Sandbar.  Check that out here.

I am going to be heading to Louisville shortly for my show tonight at DCE, and then I’m going to try to hit up the Desolation Wilderness show at Skull Alley.  Plus, I have to put posters up around town for the Bro. Stephen show at Skull Alley w/ Jamie Barnes on the 17th.

This weekend it’s looking like I found Labor Day plans, so I’m excited about that!  See you soon!

(I hope that was interesting enough Carrie.)

